Vendor comparison

Service hours tracking software for schools, compared

x2VOL, MobileServe, Helper Helper, Track It Forward, Galaxy Digital and VolTrack in one table, across 13 things a coordinator actually asks about: what it costs, how hours get verified, whether students need an app, how data gets in and out, whether parents can see anything, and where each vendor stands on FERPA. Each cell is sourced and dated.

Checked September 30, 2026. VolTrack wrote this page; competitor cells come from vendor and third-party pages linked in the profiles below. "Not stated" means we could not find it publicly. Corrections: [email protected].

At a glance

Scroll sideways on a phone. The VolTrack column is shaded so you know who is talking.

x2VOLMobileServeHelper HelperTrack It ForwardGalaxy DigitalVolTrack
Built for K-12 schools and districts; also work-based learningK-12, colleges, nonprofits, corporateK-12 districts and high schools; also collegesNonprofits, K-12 schools, community groupsVolunteer centers, nonprofits, higher-ed; a K-12 pageK-12 schools, Catholic and private high schools, clubs
Pricing public? No, request a quoteYes: $2.50 per user/yr plus $250 setup, 350-user minimumYes: $500/yr up to 200 students, then $2.50 per studentYes: from $13.25/mo per 100 users; free under 25No, custom-pricedYes: $1,200/year per school (first 25 schools), then $2,500/year, any enrollment. Clubs free up to 100 members.
How hours get verified Supervisor email sign-off, then admin approvalSupervisor email, on-screen signature, geotag, photoQR codes, validation keys, coordinator approval, kiosks, email or text confirmationPhotos, GPS, signatures or email; hour approval on Premium and upEvent check-in and approval; reflection on campus productOne-click supervisor email, no verifier account; admin approves; approved records lock
Phone app Optional iOS/Android app for students; browser for staffiOS/Android apps with check-in and proximity reminders; web dashboardBranded iOS/Android apps plus web appFree iOS/Android app; account created on the website firstMobile app included; web alsoBrowser only, nothing to install
Bringing in existing data Roster via Excel template; hours history sent to your account managerCSV user import with exact headers; hours history not statedVendor imports your data at no charge; nightly SIS roster syncSpreadsheet roster upload; paste-in hours importVendor data specialists import; site-manager import article existsSelf-serve AI column mapping, free on every plan; roster and history
Getting data out Exported reports; student activity log; paid Official Service TranscriptCSV service logs by email; Service Resume; PNG infographicsExcel downloads; QR-verified transcriptsCSV of all hours; Excel reports; service resume on Premium and upExcel or CSV exportCSV of all hours any time; branded PDF portfolio per student
Parents can see a child's hours Not statedParents-as-volunteers onlyParents-as-volunteers onlyParents log their own hours; child view not statedParents-as-volunteers onlyYes: read-only Parent Portal, school-enabled, revocable
Named integrations ClassLink, Google, Microsoft, Clever SSO and rostering; SFTP; Naviance linkPowerSchool roster sync and SSO; FACTS partnerGoogle, Microsoft, Clever, ClassLink, PowerSchool, Infinite Campus, Canvas, Aeries, FACTS, VeracrossClever, ClassLink, Google, PowerSchool, Veracross, FACTS, Infinite Campus, Blackbaud, SchoologySalesforce, Double the Donation, open APINone. Roster via importer or invite links
Opportunities for students Yes, schools and nonprofits postYesYes, with time slots, capacity, push alertsEvent calendar; directory on Premium and upYesYes, with capacity limits and map autocomplete
Graduation-requirement tracking YesYes, Goals by grade levelYes, plus honor-society thresholdsYes, milestones by grade or grad year; conditional on Premium and upCourse and hour reporting; requirement goals not statedYes, requirements and goals with per-student overrides
FERPA posture "School official" in privacy policy; DPA signing not stated"School official"; executed state DPA on file publicly"School official" on security pageSays "FERPA-compliant"; DPA signing not statedFERPA not found in its privacy policy (checked September 30, 2026)"School official"; will sign your DPA; admin two-factor required
Third-party reviews (September 30, 2026) No Capterra/G2 listing found; App Store 4.2 (1.4K ratings)Capterra 4.3 (190 reviews)Capterra 4.9 (57 reviews)Capterra 4.6 (50 reviews)Capterra 4.4 (95 reviews)None yet; launched 2026
Company intelliVOL, Kerrville TX, pilot 2009MobileServe LLC, Louisville KY, 2011Helper Helper LLC; founding year and HQ not stated by vendorOakland CA, founded 2010 (per CB Insights)Asheville NC; acquired by Better Impact, March 2026VolTrack LLC, New York, 2026

Prices and features change. Ratings are Capterra overall scores and review counts on the date checked; x2VOL has no Capterra, G2 or GetApp listing we could find, so its App Store rating is shown instead. Track It Forward's tier gating is from its own plan guide.

Each vendor in a paragraph, with sources

x2VOL

The longest-running K-12 tracker of the six, run by intelliVOL out of Kerrville, Texas, with a pilot in 2009 and more than 75 million approved hours by its own count. Verification is a supervisor email with a button, no verifier login, followed by admin approval. Students can use an optional iOS or Android app; staff use the browser. Sign-on and rostering through ClassLink, Google, Microsoft and Clever, plus SFTP. Pricing is quote-only. Historical hours are imported by sending a template to your account manager rather than uploading it yourself. Students can order a paid embossed Official Service Transcript.

Sources: pricing, verification email, mobile FAQ, SSO options, hours import, privacy policy, about.

MobileServe

Louisville-based, started in 2011, and sold to K-12, colleges, nonprofits and corporate programs. Publishes per-user K-12 pricing on its site: $2.50 per user per year plus a $250 implementation fee, 350-user minimum, with discounts for two- and three-year terms. Verification options are the broadest here: supervisor email, an on-screen finger signature, geotagging and photos. Native apps do event check-in and proximity reminders. Roster import is CSV with exact headers; PowerSchool provides roster sync and single sign-on. Its privacy policy claims FERPA "school official" status, and an executed state student-data privacy agreement is posted publicly.

Sources: pricing, features, user import, PowerSchool partner page, privacy policy, executed DPA, Capterra.

Helper Helper

Sells to districts, public and private high schools, NHS and Key Club chapters, and colleges, and reports more than 1,000 schools across 47 states. Pricing is public and flat: $500 per year for up to 200 students, then $2.50 per student, no setup fee, 30-day money-back guarantee; districts over 5,000 students get a quote. Verification runs through QR codes, validation keys, coordinator approval, check-in kiosks and email or text confirmation from community partners. It lists the widest integration set of the six, including Google, Microsoft, Clever, ClassLink, PowerSchool, Infinite Campus, Canvas, Aeries, FACTS and Veracross, with nightly roster sync. The vendor imports your existing data at no charge. Its security page states FERPA "school official" status and AWS US-East hosting.

Sources: pricing, features, integrations, security and privacy, Capterra.

Track It Forward

A general volunteer time tracker from Oakland, California, with dedicated school pages and integrations. Pricing is per 100 users and public: Basic $13.25, Premium $25 and Advanced $37 per month billed annually, free under 25 volunteers, 30-day trial. Read the plan guide before you buy, because hour approval is Premium and up and "advanced verification" is Advanced only. Verification covers photos, GPS, signatures and email. Students and parents log their own hours; a free app exists but accounts are created on the website. Integrations listed include Clever, ClassLink, Google, PowerSchool, Veracross, FACTS, Infinite Campus, Blackbaud and Schoology. Reports include a Milestone Report of who has met their requirement.

Sources: plan guide, report types, mobile app, pricing, GetApp, Capterra.

Galaxy Digital (Get Connected)

Volunteer-management software for volunteer centers, nonprofits and universities, based in Asheville, North Carolina, with a K-12 page aimed at parent volunteers and a service-learning module built for campuses. Acquired by Better Impact in March 2026. Pricing is custom and not published; the vendor says it never charges by volunteer count. Hours are tracked through event check-in, a mobile app and approval, with a reflection step on the campus product. Data import is handled by the vendor's data specialists; export is Excel or CSV. Integrations named are Salesforce, Double the Donation and an open API rather than K-12 SIS connectors. We did not find FERPA mentioned in its privacy policy.

Sources: service learning, K-12 page, FAQ, data import, privacy policy, acquisition release, Capterra.

VolTrack

The newest of the six, launched in 2026 in New York and built only for school service-hour programs. Pricing is public: $1,200/year per school (first 25 schools), then $2,500/year, any enrollment. Clubs free up to 100 members. Verification is a one-click supervisor email with no verifier account, then admin approval, and approved records lock with an audit trail. Everything runs in the browser, so there is no app to install. The AI importer is self-serve and free on every plan, reads only your column headers, and brings over both roster and historical hours with their status. Admins can export every submission to CSV any time and each student gets a branded PDF portfolio. A read-only Parent Portal can be turned on per student. There are no SIS or SSO connectors. VolTrack acts as a FERPA school official, will sign your DPA, and requires two-factor authentication for school admins. No third-party reviews yet.

Sources: pricing, switching and import, Help Center, Student Data & FERPA.

How to choose

Where each one fits, including where VolTrack does not.

  • You need nightly SIS roster sync or single sign-on. Look at Helper Helper, Track It Forward or x2VOL first. VolTrack does not have these.
  • You run a nonprofit or volunteer center with a school program on the side. Galaxy Digital and Track It Forward are built for that shape. The four school-first tools will feel narrow.
  • You want a price before a sales call. MobileServe, Helper Helper, Track It Forward and VolTrack publish one. Bring your enrollment number and do the math on per-user versus per-school pricing.
  • You want parents to see their child's progress. Ask every vendor directly. On the pages we checked, only VolTrack describes a parent view of a student's record.
  • You are switching and dread the migration. x2VOL, Helper Helper and Galaxy Digital import for you. Track It Forward and VolTrack are self-serve; VolTrack's importer maps columns for you and is free. See how switching works.
  • Your district or diocese needs a signed DPA. MobileServe has one posted publicly. VolTrack will sign yours. For the others, ask, since we could not find it stated.

Comparison FAQ

What is the best service hours tracking software for high schools?

It depends on what your program needs most. x2VOL and Helper Helper are the most K-12-specific and both offer SIS rostering. MobileServe, Helper Helper and Track It Forward publish pricing; x2VOL and Galaxy Digital quote. Galaxy Digital and Track It Forward are broader volunteer-management tools with school add-ons. VolTrack is the newest option, built for schools, with public pricing, one-click supervisor email verification and a free self-serve importer. The table on this page lays the six side by side so you can weigh them against your own requirements.

x2VOL vs MobileServe: what is the difference?

Both are established K-12 trackers that verify hours by emailing a supervisor. x2VOL is quote-only, offers ClassLink, Google, Microsoft and Clever sign-on, and sells an embossed Official Service Transcript. MobileServe publishes per-user pricing ($2.50 per user per year plus a $250 setup fee, with a 350-user minimum), adds geotag, signature and photo verification, and has a publicly posted executed student-data privacy agreement. MobileServe also serves colleges, nonprofits and corporate programs; x2VOL is more narrowly K-12.

Helper Helper vs x2VOL: which should a school pick?

Helper Helper publishes its pricing ($500 per year for up to 200 students, then $2.50 per student) and lists the widest set of school integrations of the six, including Canvas, PowerSchool, Infinite Campus, Clever and ClassLink. x2VOL does not publish pricing but has been in K-12 since 2009 and offers the Official Service Transcript. If nightly SIS sync matters, compare the two integration pages directly. If you want a price before you talk to sales, Helper Helper gives you one.

Which service hour trackers publish their prices?

MobileServe, Helper Helper, Track It Forward and VolTrack publish pricing on their sites. x2VOL and Galaxy Digital ask you to request a quote. Amounts on this page were read from each vendor's pricing page on September 30, 2026 and can change; the links in each profile go to the source.

Do any of these tools let parents see their child's hours?

On the pages we checked, x2VOL, MobileServe, Helper Helper, Track It Forward and Galaxy Digital describe parent features as parents logging their own volunteer hours, not viewing a student's record. VolTrack has a read-only Parent Portal that a school turns on per student and that can be revoked at any time. If parent visibility matters to you, ask each vendor directly, since "not stated" on this page means we did not find it, not that it does not exist.

Which trackers integrate with PowerSchool, Clever or ClassLink?

Helper Helper and Track It Forward each list Clever, ClassLink and PowerSchool. x2VOL lists ClassLink, Google, Microsoft and Clever for sign-on and rostering. MobileServe has a PowerSchool roster and single sign-on partnership. Galaxy Digital lists Salesforce and an open API rather than K-12 SIS connectors. VolTrack has no SIS or SSO connectors; rosters come in through the importer or invite links.

How was this comparison put together?

VolTrack wrote it, so read it with that in mind. Every competitor cell comes from a public vendor page or a named third-party page checked on September 30, 2026, and each profile links its sources. Where we could not find something publicly, the cell says "not stated" rather than guessing. If a vendor believes a cell is wrong, email [email protected] with a link and we will correct it.

See VolTrack on your school's program

Fifteen minutes on a screen share, with your real export if you have one.